NFPA 855, Standard for the Installation of Stationary Energy Storage Systems, is the fire safety standard that governs where, how much, and under what conditions stationary battery storage systems can be installed in residential, commercial, and utility-scale applications.

For solar+storage projects, NFPA 855 works alongside NEC Article 706 (electrical requirements) and UL 9540/9540A (listing requirements) to define what the fire marshal, AHJ building department, and fire department will review when approving a BESS installation.

Many solar installers are familiar with NEC 706 from the electrical plan check process but encounter NFPA 855 for the first time when a project is flagged by the fire department.

The two standards are complementary: NEC 706 governs the electrical design (disconnects, OCPD, wiring, labeling); NFPA 855 governs the physical installation (location, quantity, thermal management, fire separation, emergency planning). You need both to produce a complete permit package for any solar-plus-storage project.

Quick answer. NFPA 855 is the NFPA fire safety standard for installing stationary energy storage systems. For one- and two-family homes it limits each ESS unit to 20 kWh and the aggregate to 40 kWh in utility closets or basements and 80 kWh in garages or outdoors. Units must be listed to UL 9540; the 2021 IRC Section R328 repeats these limits.

TL;DR

  • For dwellings, NFPA 855 limits each ESS unit to 20 kWh and the aggregate per location to 40 kWh (closets, basements, storage) or 80 kWh (garages, exterior walls, outdoors).
  • NFPA 855 governs installation location, quantity, and fire separation, while NEC Article 706 governs the electrical design, a solar+BESS permit package needs to satisfy both.
  • Lithium-ion ESS must be UL 9540 listed, and UL 9540A thermal-runaway propagation test data is often what justifies quantities above the standard limit.
  • Residential ESS cannot be installed in sleeping rooms or closets opening into them, and units need 3 feet of spacing unless UL 9540A data supports less.
  • Commercial and utility-scale projects fall under the general NFPA 855 and IFC 1207 rules, and large systems usually need a separate fire department review.
  • A complete permit package includes the UL 9540 listing documentation, an NFPA 855 compliance statement, an emergency placard specification, and clearance dimensions on the site or floor plan.

NFPA 855 and the Solar-Plus-Storage Permit Stack

Knowing where NFPA 855 sits in the permit approval chain prevents coordination errors that delay projects.

Permit stack for solar+BESS. A typical residential solar+BESS project in a jurisdiction that enforces NFPA 855 requires: (1) Building/electrical permit from the AHJ (checks NEC 706 compliance); (2) Fire department review (checks NFPA 855 compliance), either as part of the building permit or a separate fire permit; (3) Utility interconnection (SDG&E, SCE, PG&E, Xcel, etc.) which verifies inverter compliance independently. Missing the fire department review loop is the most common cause of BESS installation delays. The fire department review is separate from the building department in many jurisdictions.

How NFPA 855 reaches a project: Most states do not adopt NFPA 855 directly. They adopt the International Fire Code (Section 1207 in the 2021 and 2024 editions) and the International Residential Code (Section R328 from 2021), which carry the same core rules and reference NFPA 855. California, New York City and other jurisdictions add local amendments. Confirm with the local fire marshal which edition and amendments apply.


What NFPA 855 Covers

NFPA 855 has general chapters (scope, definitions, listing, hazard mitigation, commissioning and emergency planning), technology-specific requirements, and a dedicated chapter for ESS in one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses. Chapter numbers have moved between the 2020, 2023 and 2026 editions, so cite sections from the edition your AHJ enforces.

The Residential Limits: 20 kWh per Unit, Not per Room

The most commonly misquoted NFPA 855 rule for residential solar-plus-storage is the 20 kWh figure. It is a limit per ESS unit, not per room. The aggregate limits depend on location:

LocationAggregate limit (dwellings)
Utility closets, basements, storage or utility spaces40 kWh
Attached or detached garages, detached accessory structures80 kWh
Exterior walls80 kWh
Outdoors on the ground80 kWh

Source: NFPA 855 dwelling chapter and 2021 IRC R328.5. Some officials read the aggregate as per location, others per dwelling, so confirm with your AHJ before designing a large system.

What this means in practice (check current datasheets):

SystemCapacityNotes
Tesla Powerwall 313.5 kWhOne unit is under the 20 kWh unit limit
2× Tesla Powerwall 327 kWhWithin the 80 kWh garage limit; within the 40 kWh basement limit
3× Tesla Powerwall 340.5 kWhOver 40 kWh, so not in a utility space or basement; can fit in a garage or outdoors
Enphase IQ Battery 10T10.08 kWhUnder the unit limit
Franklin WH1010.0 kWhUnder the unit limit
SolarEdge Home Battery9.7 kWhUnder the unit limit

Watch out: spacing and energy rating. Units must be at least 3 feet apart unless the manufacturer's UL 9540A data supports closer spacing. Use the energy rating the listing states, and confirm whether your AHJ reads it as usable or nameplate capacity.

Options when a design exceeds the residential limits:

  1. Move units to a location with a higher limit, such as a garage, an exterior wall or outdoors.
  2. Use UL 9540A test data to justify closer spacing where the manufacturer has it.
  3. Design to the commercial rules. Installations above the individual or aggregate ratings must follow the general NFPA 855 / IFC 1207 requirements, which can include fire-rated rooms, suppression and detection.
  4. Alternative means and methods. The fire code official can approve other solutions with compensating measures.

Key NFPA 855 Requirements for Lithium-Ion ESS

These provisions matter most for solar-plus-storage permit designers:

Equipment Listing

All lithium-ion ESS must be listed to UL 9540 (Equipment Safety Standard for Energy Storage Systems). The listing must include the battery cells, battery management system (BMS), and the enclosure as an integrated system. Listing confirms the product design was evaluated; it does not guarantee defect-free installation, so EPCs should still check for hidden defects in BESS that surface before commissioning as part of quality control.

Distinction from UL 9540A: UL 9540 is the product listing standard (the ESS as a product). UL 9540A is the thermal runaway fire propagation test method, a separate test that provides data for AHJ review of large-scale installations. Both are referenced in NFPA 855. Outside the US, inverter and integration safety for these same systems is more often governed by IEC 62109, the international counterpart engineers should check when a BESS product is being deployed across multiple regulatory jurisdictions.

Thermal Management and Environment

NFPA 855 requires that lithium-ion ESS include thermal management systems appropriate for the installation environment. For indoor residential installations:

  • Ambient temperature range the system is rated for must be met at the installation location
  • Ventilation requirements from the manufacturer’s installation instructions must be satisfied
  • The BESS must not be installed in locations with ambient temperatures outside the manufacturer’s rated range

Permit implication: The permit package should reference the BESS manufacturer’s installation instructions for temperature and ventilation requirements, and the site plan should show that the installation location meets those requirements.

Separation and Clearances

For dwellings, NFPA 855 and IRC R328 require:

  • 3 feet between ESS units, unless UL 9540A data supports less
  • 3 feet from doors and windows opening into the dwelling, for units on exterior walls
  • No installation in sleeping rooms or closets opening into them
  • Working clearances per the NEC and the manufacturer’s instructions

Permit implication: The site plan and floor plan exhibit should show the BESS installation location with clearance dimensions annotated.

Signage and Emergency Placards

NFPA 855 requires emergency placard/signage on the building exterior at a location visible to first responders, indicating:

  • The presence and location of energy storage equipment
  • The ESS chemistry (lithium-ion, lead-acid, etc.)
  • The total energy capacity in kWh

The placard format is usually specified by the fire marshal, so check local format requirements.

Permit implication: Include a placard specification in the permit package in the local fire department’s required format.


Residential Installation Locations

The dwelling chapter of NFPA 855 (mirrored by IRC R328) covers one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses, the most common solar-plus-storage setting.

Key residential requirements:

  • Each unit 20 kWh or less; aggregate within the location limits above
  • Not in sleeping rooms, or closets or spaces opening directly into them
  • Must not obstruct means of egress
  • Units in habitable or attached spaces need protection from impact (for example, near vehicles in a garage)
  • A smoke alarm or heat detector in the room or area where required by the adopted code

Typical residential installation locations:

LocationAcceptable?Notes
Garage (attached)Yes, common80 kWh aggregate; protect from vehicle impact
Garage (detached)Yes, common80 kWh aggregate
Utility room / laundryYes40 kWh aggregate; check clearances
BasementYes40 kWh aggregate
Bedroom or closet opening into itNoProhibited
Living spacesGenerally noNot allowed in habitable space under IRC R328; check local rules
Exterior wallYes, common80 kWh aggregate; 3 ft from doors and windows

Outdoor and Utility-Scale BESS Under NFPA 855

For larger solar+storage projects (commercial, C&I, utility-scale), the general NFPA 855 requirements govern containerized outdoor BESS. Getting the quantity thresholds right starts with correct sizing; see BESS sizing for C&I solar: a battery engineer’s walkthrough for the underlying capacity math.

Typical requirements for outdoor containerized ESS (confirm against the adopted edition):

RequirementSpecification
Separation from buildings and lot linesGenerally 10 feet, which can be reduced with UL 9540A data or fire barriers
Separation between ESS containersPer UL 9540A test results and the adopted edition
Emergency accessFire department access as required by the fire code official
Fire suppressionRequired for arrays above specified quantity thresholds
Emergency disconnectsPer NEC 706; must be accessible to fire department
Hazardous materials complianceLithium-ion BESS may trigger hazmat storage regulations depending on total kWh and local fire codes

Commercial/utility-scale tip. For C&I solar-plus-storage projects, the fire department review often becomes a separate engineering review rather than a standard permit check. Ask for the timeline at a pre-submittal meeting; it runs separate from the building permit timeline. Starting the fire marshal pre-submittal meeting early (before final design) is the single best way to prevent last-minute fire separation or suppression requirements that trigger design changes.


UL 9540 and UL 9540A: The Testing Standards Behind NFPA 855

NFPA 855 requires ESS equipment to be listed. The primary listing standards are:

UL 9540, Equipment Safety Standard for Energy Storage Systems:

  • The system-level product safety standard
  • Tests the ESS (batteries, BMS, enclosure, inverter integration) for electrical safety, dielectric strength, thermal performance, and other safety characteristics
  • Products that pass UL 9540 are “UL 9540 listed”; this is what appears on the product cut sheet
  • Required by NFPA 855, IFC 1207 and IRC R328

UL 9540A, Test Method for Evaluating Thermal Runaway Fire Propagation:

  • A separate, more demanding fire propagation test
  • Tests the ESS system for thermal runaway initiation, propagation within the unit, and propagation to adjacent units
  • Produces data on fire spread behavior, off-gas characteristics, and heat release
  • Used by AHJs and fire marshals to justify reduced spacing and to evaluate larger installations
  • Many BESS manufacturers make UL 9540A summaries available to installers and AHJs

Permit Documentation:

For any BESS installation, especially one near the residential limits, include in the permit package:

  1. UL 9540 listing confirmation (product cut sheet showing UL listing mark and file number)
  2. UL 9540A test report (if available for the product), with key findings summarized
  3. Manufacturer’s installation manual extract showing the temperature, clearance, and ventilation requirements
  4. NFPA 855 compliance statement indicating which section applies and how compliance is achieved

Permit Drawing Requirements for NFPA 855 Compliance

A complete solar+BESS permit package in NFPA 855-enforcing jurisdictions includes:

  1. Electrical SLD (per NEC 706): BESS disconnect, OCPD, energy and labeling notes, 120% calculation
  2. Floor plan / site plan with BESS location: showing installation location, clearances from HVAC, panel, structural elements, and egress paths
  3. BESS product cut sheet: showing UL 9540 listing mark and file number
  4. NFPA 855 compliance statement: which chapter (dwelling or general), unit and aggregate energy, and compliance path
  5. Emergency placard specification: in the local fire department’s format
  6. Thermal management note: ambient temperature range, ventilation per manufacturer instructions
  7. If above the residential limits: relocation, commercial-rule design or UL 9540A data supporting the approach

Common NFPA 855 Plan Corrections

#CorrectionFix
1BESS installation in sleeping areaRelocate to garage, utility room, or exterior
2Energy capacity not stated on permit (only “per manufacturer”)State unit and aggregate kWh explicitly
3UL 9540 listing not documentedAdd UL listing number from cut sheet to permit package
4Clearances not shown on floor planAdd dimension annotations for clearances to HVAC, panel, and egress
5Emergency placard not specifiedAdd placard callout to site plan or cover sheet
6Aggregate above the location limit, or units closer than 3 ftRelocate, add spacing or provide UL 9540A data
7Fire department review not started for commercial BESSHold a fire marshal pre-submittal before building department submission

How Heaven Designs Documents NFPA 855 in BESS Permit Packages

The NFPA 855 official page is the authoritative source for the standard text and adoption status. The UL 9540 standard overview provides listing criteria for ESS products. The NREL solar permitting resources document how BESS fire code requirements affect project timelines. The SEIA storage research resources track ESS policy and permitting trends.

Glossary: AHJ, NEC 705, BESS.


FAQ

Where can I read the NFPA 855 PDF?

NFPA publishes NFPA 855 itself. Its free access program lets you read the current edition online after registering at nfpa.org; a downloadable PDF must be bought from NFPA. Check which edition your AHJ has adopted, since 2020, 2023 and later editions differ.

What is the maximum indoor battery storage allowed under NFPA 855?

For one- and two-family dwellings, NFPA 855 limits each lithium-ion ESS unit to 20 kWh. The aggregate is limited by location: 40 kWh in utility closets, basements and storage spaces, and 80 kWh in garages, on exterior walls or outdoors.

A single Tesla Powerwall 3 (13.5 kWh) is within the unit limit, and two (27 kWh) fit within either aggregate limit. Larger systems need a garage or outdoor location, or design to the commercial rules.

Is NFPA 855 the same as NEC 706?

No. NEC Article 706 and NFPA 855 are separate, complementary standards. NEC 706 is the electrical code for energy storage systems. It governs disconnects, overcurrent protection, wiring, and labeling.

NFPA 855 is the fire safety standard. It governs where ESS can be installed, quantity limits, spacing, fire separation and emergency planning. Both apply to solar-plus-storage installations wherever the AHJ enforces them.

Does NFPA 855 apply to Tesla Powerwall installations?

Yes. Tesla Powerwall (and other residential BESS products) must comply with NFPA 855 when installed in jurisdictions that have adopted it. Tesla Powerwall 3 is UL 9540 listed, which satisfies the listing requirement.

For a single Powerwall (13.5 kWh usable), installation in a garage or utility room on an exterior wall, away from sleeping areas and with the manufacturer’s clearances maintained, typically satisfies NFPA 855 without additional requirements. Multiple Powerwalls are allowed up to the aggregate limit for the location (40 or 80 kWh), with 3 feet between units unless the UL 9540A data supports less.

Does a garage installation of BESS require fire-rated separation from the living space?

Attached garages in R-3 occupancies typically require fire-rated separation from the living space under the International Residential Code (IRC) regardless of whether a BESS is present, typically a 5/8-inch Type X drywall finish on the garage side of the shared wall.

For installations within the residential limits, the garage aggregate limit is 80 kWh. Installations that exceed the limits may need additional fire-rated construction, so verify with the AHJ fire marshal.

What is the fire department review process for large commercial BESS?

For commercial solar-plus-storage projects above the thresholds in the adopted fire code (IFC 1207 sets them by technology), the fire marshal or AHJ fire prevention bureau typically requires a separate fire department review or permit.

The process typically includes: pre-submittal meeting with the fire marshal to discuss the installation; submission of NFPA 855 compliance documentation including UL 9540A data, site plan with separation distances, fire suppression specification, and emergency planning; fire department site inspection after installation. Ask for the expected review timeline at the pre-submittal meeting; large utility-scale reviews take longer.

Can a BESS be installed in a bedroom or sleeping area?

No. NFPA 855 and IRC R328 prohibit ESS in sleeping rooms, and in closets or spaces that open directly into sleeping rooms. The restriction exists because thermal runaway events in lithium-ion batteries can produce toxic gases rapidly, and sleeping occupants may not have adequate egress time if a BESS event occurs in or adjacent to a sleeping area.