A government rooftop tender goes live on GeM and the clock starts. The bid page looks short. The real rules sit in a buyer-uploaded PDF, and the roof drawings you need to price the job are often not provided. EPCs lose time on the wrong question: what will the evaluator score? In the three government rooftop tenders we read, the answer is nothing, because the technical bid is checked, not marked.

This guide is for the Indian EPC founder or bid manager who bids government rooftops. It separates what the GeM listing needs from what the technical evaluation checks, and it lists the drawings to have ready before the bid closes. It is the bidder’s side of a procurement that our solar design RFP response guide describes from the buyer’s side.

Quick answer. On a GeM solar tender, the bid page sets money and eligibility fields and the buyer’s ATC document carries the technical rules. In the three government rooftop tenders we read, the technical bid is a pass or fail check on documents and compliance, not a marks score. Detailed drawings are mostly post-award approvals, but layout, shading, SLD and structure checks must exist before you price.

How is a GeM solar tender structured?

A GeM bid has three layers, and each answers a different question.

LayerWho writes itWhat it fixesExample from a real bid
GeM bid pageBuyer, through GeM’s formDates, validity, EMD, performance security, bid type, turnover, years of experience, relaxations, documents required from the seller, technical clarification window, evaluation methodCREDA bid GEM/2026/B/7935715 dated 21-08-2026 lists the documents required from the seller as experience, past performance, turnover, OEM authorization and “Compliance of BoQ specification and supporting document”
Buyer ATCBuyer, uploaded as a PDFTechnical specification, scope, site rules, eligibility detail, drawings and approvalsIndian Maritime University (IMU) uses a long ATC for a 300 kWp rooftop tender
GeM General Terms and ConditionsGeMRules every bid inheritsEach bid page ends with “This Bid is also governed by the General Terms and Conditions”

Two points come from the documents themselves. First, GeM prints a standing disclaimer on corrigenda: the buyer is solely responsible for its ATC clauses, and clauses on certain subjects make the bid void. The list includes demanding documents in physical form other than EMD and a signed integrity pact, pointing to external documents, and mandating a brand or make. This is from the CREDA corrigendum for GEM/2026/B/7935715, which is an inverter rate contract. It lists “Solar Power Plant (Roof Top) for ONGRID System, Single Phase (V2)” among the categories selected for that bid. It shows the page format and a category name. It is not a rooftop plant specification.

Second, the technical clarification window is set per bid. The CREDA page allows 3 days. A solar street light bid, GEM/2026/B/7918208 dated 14-08-2026, allows 2 days. Read the field on the bid you are bidding. Do not carry a number from one bid to the next.

So a GeM rooftop solar tender needs, at listing level, a bidder who meets the page fields and can upload the listed documents. Everything about the roof, the modules and the drawings comes from the ATC.

Does a technical bid evaluator score your drawings?

Not in the three rooftop documents we opened. None of them publishes a marks scheme. Each runs a gate sequence: eligibility documents, then compliance with the technical terms, then price.

ItemBRBNMPL Mysuru, 3000 kWpIMU Chennai, 300 kWpASSEB Division-II Guwahati, 100 kWp
Document and dateGeM bid GEM/2025/B/6861621 dated 12.11.2025; pre-bid reply dated 27.02.2026ATC for a two-bid tender on GeM; bid number and dates are “as per the GeM Bid Document”RfP ref. ASSEB/DIV-II/IT/RSI/72/2024/530 issued 08/07/2026; on assamtenders.gov.in, not GeM
Evaluation shapeEligibility, then technical compliance; reverse auction “not applicable”Pre-qualification, then techno-commercial bid, then price bid for those who pass; ties go to GeM’s L-1 algorithmTechnical bid first; financial bids opened only for technically qualified bidders
What the technical packet isAnnexure forms signed and sealed, makes and MAF, eligibility proofEssential documents, self-declarations, makers list, acceptance of all technical termsAnnexure II, 15 items, plus Annexure VI technical details sheet (make, model, specification for 12 components)
Drawings in the bid packetNone named in the pre-bid reply; roof drawings were refused to biddersNone listed among the essential documentsNone listed in Annexure II
Drawings after awardDesign is in bidder scopeLong approval list (see below)Layout, structural, SLD, shadow analysis and generation estimate, approved before installation

Sources: BRBNMPL pre-bid queries and reply, IMU ATC and the ASSEB Division-II RfP as hosted by a tender site. The RfP names assamtenders.gov.in as its official source.

The IMU wording shows how the gate works. The buyer examines the techno-commercial bid “to confirm that all terms and conditions specified in the Technical Specification have been accepted by the bidder without any material deviation or reservation or omission.” If they were not, the price bid “will not be opened” (clause 6.29). That is a compliance test. A strong drawing set does not earn extra credit. A missing document or a stated deviation ends the bid.

Practitioner judgement: this makes drawings a pricing tool at bid stage, not a scoring tool. The layout you draw before closing decides your module count, structure weight, cable run and therefore your price. It also lets you sign the compliance statement without guessing.

Which drawings and calculations do these tenders ask for, and when?

The three tenders split drawings into stages. Do not generalise one tender’s stage rule to another.

DeliverableBRBNMPL (3000 kWp)IMU (300 kWp)ASSEB (100 kWp)
Roof or site drawings from the buyerRefused: “as per company security norms, drawings cannot be provided.” Vendors visit and designMandatory pre-bid meeting cum site visitSite survey is in scope after award
Array layout with shadow analysisBidder’s design; layout must stay inside the indicated area and meet the contracted generationArray layout with shadow analysis report, submitted for one-time approvalLayout drawings and shadow analysis report, submitted for approval
Yield or simulation reportPerformance Ratio at least 85% (no change after bidders asked for 75% to 78%)Software simulation report showing tilt, module efficiency and generation over the 5-year warranty period, before module and inverter selectionGeneration estimates; minimum PR 75%
Single line diagramBidder’s design; interface at 6.6 kV on the existing HT busbarSLD with component ratingsSLD
Structure and foundationNo drilling of the RCC slab; 3 ft clearance kept; pedestal sizes “indicative only”MMS design, foundation design, STAD report; design certified by IIT Kharagpur, IIT Madras, IIEST Shibpur, Jadavpur University or equivalent at the contractor’s cost; wind 200 km/h or Chennai conditions, whichever is higherStructural drawings; wind up to 150 kmph; approval by an IIT, NIT or Government Engineering College of Assam before installation
Cables, earthing, lightningCable sizes are bidder’s design; quantities indicative, extra paid at actualsCable schedule, earthing layout, DSLP calculation, cable routingEarthing under 5 ohms; lightning protection in scope
Statutory approvalsFees reimbursed on bills; net metering under the state commission and DISCOMApproval from the Regional Inspectorial Organization, CEA or DISCOM is in contractor scopeApplication to APDCL by the bidder

Read the table with one caution. The IMU list is headed “Mandatory Submissions” under “Engineering Data & Drawings”, and the text says the contractor submits the design documents for approval. It sits in the scope of the contractor after award. It is not in the list of essential documents uploaded with the bid. The ASSEB scope likewise places the design deliverables on the selected bidder. We did not open the BRBNMPL bid document itself, only the reply to bidder queries, so we state what the reply says.

Several of these approvals feed the next stage. For the inspection after build, see our CEIG inspection checklist and the CEIG drawing approval process. For the technical schedules an owner attaches after award, see the solar EPC contract technical specification checklist.

Who is allowed to submit a technical bid at all?

Eligibility documents decide whether your technical bid is read. The thresholds differ widely, so copy none of them.

CriterionBRBNMPLIMUASSEB
TurnoverAudited books with a UDIN required for turnover and net worthAverage at least ₹63 lakh over FY 2023-24 to 2025-26, CA certifiedAverage at least ₹40 lakh over FY 2022-23 to 2024-25, CA certified
ExperienceA single work order or purchase order of at least 3000 kWp in any one year of the last five ending 31/03/2025; ground and rooftop both countRooftop work of at least 300 kWp aggregate in the last seven years, with value tiers of ₹1.68 crore, or two works of ₹1.05 crore, or three of ₹0.84 crore; sub-contractor or supply-only experience is not counted5 years in the field, plus one project of 80 kWp, or two of 50 kWp, or three of 40 kWp
Licence or empanelmentNot stated in the replyValid electrical contractor’s licenceEmpanelment by a competent authority of the Government of India or Government of Assam; a functional office in Guwahati
Manufacturer papersManufacturer Authorization Form for critical equipment, tender condition keptMakers list for all major items with the techno-commercial bidMake, model and specification sheet for 12 components
RelaxationsMSE exemption from EMD only for manufacturers and service providers; DPIIT-registered startups exempt from the experience criterion if specifications are metMSE and startup relaxations listed in the ITBNot stated
ConsortiumNot statedNot statedSingle legal entity only; joint ventures are rejected

Note what is absent. None of the three documents asks for MNRE empanelment by name. ASSEB asks for empanelment by an authority of the Government of India or the Government of Assam, which is a wider and different test. If a tender is silent, do not assume the requirement. If it uses the word, ask in the pre-bid which body it means.

What do ALMM List-I, List-II and DCR mean for the module line?

The module line is where a rooftop bid fails most often on paper. The dates below come from MNRE’s public statements through the Press Information Bureau (PIB). We could not open mnre.gov.in notice pages from our research box, so we cite PIB and the tenders.

DateWhat happenedSource
10.04.2021ALMM for solar PV modules (List-I) took effectPIB, 28 July 2025
09.12.2024Order amended to bring in List-II for cells from 1 June 2026. Projects whose last bid submission date was before the order are exempt; future bids need modules and cells from the listsPIB, 10 December 2024
28.07.2025Amendment: cell ALMM becomes mandatory one month after the List-II publication; the 1 June 2026 date for commissioned projects is unchangedPIB, 28 July 2025
18.03.2026List-III for ingots and wafers announced, effective 1 June 2028; it does not dilute DCR provisions under existing MNRE schemesPIB, 18 March 2026
25.05.2026No blanket extension beyond 1 June 2026. Net-metering and open-access projects commissioned before that date are exempt. Other cases get case-by-case relief under OM 283/63/2025-GRID SOLARPIB, 25 May 2026

MNRE has also issued later clarifications aimed at rooftop projects on government buildings. We read about them only in trade press, so we do not state their terms here. Read the current MNRE ALMM notices before you freeze the module line. Our ALMM explainer and the ALMM glossary entry cover the lists in general.

Now compare the tender wording, because each buyer wrote its own sentence.

  • BRBNMPL, reply dated 27.02.2026: modules must be “DCR compliant … (ALMM I & II TOPcon modules)”. Bidders asked whether List-I alone would do. The answer was “both ALMM List I & II. DCR Compliant modules only.”
  • ASSEB, RfP issued 08/07/2026: modules “shall be ALMM (Approved List of Models and Manufacturers) listed” and “DCR (Domestic Content Requirement) compliant … in accordance with the latest MNRE regulations applicable at the time of execution of the project.”
  • IMU ATC: modules shall be manufactured in India “as per the Domestic Content Requirement (DCR) and/or Non-Domestic Content Requirement (DCR) defined by MNRE and shall be listed in the ALMM”. The phrase “and/or Non-DCR” is open to two readings. Raise it as a pre-bid query before you choose a module.

ALMM and DCR are separate tests, as our MNRE DCR compliance guide explains. The tender decides which tests apply and how it words them. Price the module on the wording in your tender. Then record the model, the List-I entry and the cell source in your compliance statement.

What gets a bid disqualified in these documents?

Only items the documents state are listed here. Our own reading comes after, and is labelled.

Stated in the documents

  • IMU: “Bid will be considered rejected if any of the essential documents … is not submitted.” Essential documents cover turnover proof, work orders and completion certificates, and EMD or an MSE certificate. They also cover the local content self-certification, the self-declaration accepting all terms, and the electrical contractor’s licence.
  • IMU: the pre-bid meeting cum site visit is mandatory, and a bidder who does not attend will not be considered further (clause 6.4.3).
  • IMU: if the techno-commercial terms are not accepted without material deviation, the price bid is not opened (clause 6.29.3). A bidder who does not answer a clarification request in time may be disqualified (clause 6.24).
  • BRBNMPL: asked whether missing the mandatory site visit means outright rejection, the buyer answered “Site visit is mandatory. Tender condition prevails.” Twenty-six firms logged visits between 25 November and 12 December 2025.
  • BRBNMPL: requests to lower the Performance Ratio from 85%, to allow multiple makes per BOQ item, or to change the inverter and transformer voltage were refused with “No change” or “Tender condition prevails.”
  • ASSEB: joint-venture bids are non-responsive and rejected. Proposals incomplete in any respect, or late, are summarily rejected. A bid valid for less than 180 days may be rejected as non-responsive.

Practitioner judgement, not stated in the documents

  • A technical compliance sheet that quotes a spec the tender does not contain will read as a deviation. Match the tender’s own numbers.
  • A layout that leaves out an existing plant or a shadow source the buyer mentioned invites a clarification request with a short window. Late replies are the stated risk at IMU.

What should be ready before the bid closes? A pre-bid drawing checklist

This is our working checklist for a government rooftop bid. It is practitioner judgement built on the three documents above, not a rule from any one tender. Check each item against your ATC and strike what the buyer does not ask for.

Ready before closeWhy it matters at bid stageWhat the documents show
Indicative array layout on the real roof, with usable area after setbacksSets module count, which sets price and capacityBRBNMPL refused roof drawings and told bidders to “visit the site and design suitably”
Shadow analysis and a yield simulationSupports the PR or generation figure you acceptIMU asks for a simulation report; BRBNMPL holds PR at 85%; ASSEB sets 75%
SLD with ratings and the interface pointFixes inverter, panel, breaker and cable scopeBRBNMPL fixes the interface at 6.6 kV on the existing HT busbar
Structure and load check against roof limits and windSets structure weight and foundation type, and tests the “no drilling” ruleBRBNMPL: no drilling of the RCC slab. IMU: 200 km/h. ASSEB: 150 kmph
Cable routing lengths and a first cable scheduleCable is a large share of a rooftop BOQ and quantities are often “indicative”BRBNMPL pays additional cable at actuals; IMU wants a cable schedule
Earthing and lightning layout in outlineLets you price pits and arrestersIMU wants an earthing layout and DSLP calculation; ASSEB sets earthing under 5 ohms
Module, inverter and structure makes with datasheetsThe makers list or Annexure sheet goes in with the bidIMU, ASSEB and BRBNMPL all ask for makes
Compliance statement against the tender specDeviation ends the bid at IMUGeM page lists “Compliance of BoQ specification” as a seller document

A layout and BOQ built on the same quantities keeps the bid honest. Our guides on how to calculate a solar BOQ and rooftop shadow analysis cover those steps. For the structural paper that buyers and DISCOMs ask for, see the rooftop structural safety certificate guide. For the ballast question, see ballasted vs penetrating rooftop mounts. The generic go or no-go gate is in our 40-point solar EPC bid checklist.

This is the point where an early 3D layout pays off. Heaven Designs offers solar 3D pre-design, which delivers a 3D layout, shading analysis and a PVsyst yield estimate before you bid. Scope and turnaround are agreed at scoping.

What does the bid window look like in real dates?

Real windows are short, and the useful clock starts when the buyer answers queries.

TenderPublished or issuedPre-bid or site visitBuyer answersClose
ASSEB Division-II, 100 kWp08/07/2026 (day 0)Queries due 18/07/2026 (day 10)20/07/2026 (day 12)31/07/2026, 2:00 PM (day 23)
BRBNMPL, 3000 kWpGeM bid dated 12.11.2025 (day 0)26 firms visited from 25.11.2025 to 12.12.2025 (day 13 to day 30)Reply document dated 27.02.2026 (day 107)Not stated in the reply document
IMU, 300 kWpNot printed in the ATCMandatory meeting and visit “as per the GeM Bid Document”Corrigenda on GeM only”As per the GeM Bid Document”

ASSEB left bidders 11 days between the buyer’s answers and the close. Plan for that, not for the first day of the window. The working-back plan below is an illustration for a window of about three weeks. It is our suggestion, not a buyer rule.

Day in an illustrative 21-day windowTask
1 to 2Download the bid page and the ATC. Read eligibility first and decide go or no-go
3 to 6Site visit, roof measurements, existing plant and grid data
5 to 9Send pre-bid queries before the buyer’s deadline, citing page and clause
8 to 14Layout, shadow analysis, yield, SLD, structure and cable check
12 to 16Fix the module line against the ALMM and DCR wording, collect makes and datasheets
15 to 18Build the compliance statement and the eligibility document set
19 to 21Upload, check every file opens, keep a buffer for GeM time and any corrigendum

GeM bid pages also carry auto-extension fields that differ per bid. CREDA’s page extends by 7 days up to 3 times when fewer than 3 bids are received. Never plan around an extension.

What did we not read, and how should you use this guide?

The GeM portal pages were not reachable from our research box. The server accepted a DNS lookup but refused the connection. We could not open GeM category pages, the live bid search or the General Terms and Conditions. We read buyer-hosted copies of GeM bid documents and government tender PDFs instead. For BRBNMPL we read the pre-bid reply, not the bid itself. For IMU the ATC did not print a GeM bid number. ASSEB is not a GeM bid.

Each tender sets its own rules. Treat the three above as examples of how buyers write, never as a statement of what every GeM solar tender requires. Open the live GeM bid, read the bid page and its ATC end to end, and read any corrigendum. Verify project-specific requirements with the buyer. This guide was reviewed on 31 October 2026. ALMM clarifications and tender wording change, so recheck before you bid.

FAQ

Is GeM only for buying products, or can an EPC bid a full rooftop job there?

Buyers use it for both. The IMU tender invited a design, supply, installation, testing and commissioning bid for 300 kWp through GeM. The CREDA bid we read, GEM/2026/B/7935715, was a rate contract for inverters. The category and bid type are set by the buyer, so read the bid page.

Do I have to upload drawings with a GeM technical bid?

Not in the three documents we read. The IMU essential documents are financial, experience and declaration papers, and ASSEB’s Annexure II is an administrative and technical details list. Design drawings come after award for approval. Your own ATC may differ, so check its list of documents to be uploaded.

Does MNRE empanelment decide eligibility for a government rooftop tender?

None of the three tenders asked for it by name. ASSEB asked for empanelment by a competent authority of the Government of India or the Government of Assam. Quote the exact words of your tender and ask the buyer in the pre-bid if the body is unclear.

Which ALMM list applies to my bid?

It depends on the tender wording and the dates. The 09.12.2024 order brought cells under List-II for projects from 1 June 2026. Bids whose last submission date was before the order are exempt. BRBNMPL, in a reply dated 27.02.2026, required both List-I and List-II. Read the current MNRE notices and your ATC.

Can I ask the buyer for roof drawings?

You can ask. BRBNMPL refused on security grounds and told bidders to visit and design. IMU made a pre-bid meeting and site visit mandatory. Plan to measure the roof yourself.

Can a bid be rejected for a missing attachment?

Yes, where the document says so. IMU rejects a bid if any essential document is missing. ASSEB rejects incomplete proposals. Check each file opens after upload.

What is the safest way to handle an unclear clause?

Ask in writing during the pre-bid window, citing the page and clause. At BRBNMPL, the buyer answered bidder queries in a published reply. Many were closed with “Tender condition prevails.” Price what the tender says, not what you hope it means. A workable query names the clause, quotes the words and offers two readings, for example: “ATC clause on modules reads ‘DCR and/or Non-DCR’. Please confirm whether List-II cells are required.”

Get the layout and drawing set ready before the clock runs out

If you are about to bid a government rooftop, start with the roof. Heaven Designs solar 3D pre-design gives you a 3D layout, shading analysis and PVsyst yield for the bid. See what a finished set looks like in our design samples, sent by email within 24 hours. Or message us on WhatsApp with the bid page. To scope a project, use our contact page. We reply within 1 business day.