An installer who already uses Solar Permit Solutions and wants a second vendor has a narrow job. Find out which other plan set providers publish enough to compare. Most do not. Prices, revision terms and stamping detail sit on some pages and are missing from others, so a shortlist built from home page headlines compares unlike things.

Disclosure. Heaven Designs publishes this comparison and is one of the vendors in it. Every competitor fact below was read from that vendor’s own page and is dated “observed 31 October 2026”. We do not rank vendors and we do not use ratings.

Quick answer. Solar Permit Solutions publishes flat plan set prices from $1,200 with PE stamp and unlimited revisions (observed 31 October 2026). Alternatives differ mainly in what they publish. Solar Designs USA posts a $250 base price. GreenLancer, Wattmonk and Vishtik post none on the pages we read. Compare vendors on deliverables, revisions, stamping, intake platform and price transparency, using one real project.

Who is Solar Permit Solutions and what does it publish?

Solar Permit Solutions is a US solar permit design company at solarpermitsolutions.com. Its home page title reads “Solar Permit Solutions : Solar Permit Design Company”, and the footer reads “(c) 2026 Solar Permit Solutions”. The pages we opened do not name a legal entity, founders or an address. The only contact details on its about page are a phone number and an email address.

What it does publish is complete. Its pricing page lists three flat tiers per plan set, observed 31 October 2026:

  • Residential and ADU, up to 20 kW: $1,200
  • Large Residential, 20 kW to 30 kW: $2,000
  • Commercial and Custom, 30 kW and up: starting at $3,700
  • Optional add-ons: utility interconnection at $1,500 and direct AHJ submission at $1,000

Each tier is listed as stamped and sealed by a licensed PE, with unlimited revisions. That transparency is a real strength, and it is the standard this comparison holds the other vendors to. Where a vendor does not publish a number on the pages we read, the table says so.

Solar permit solutions alternatives compared on the same criteria

We used five criteria that change what an installer pays and waits for: deliverables, revision handling, stamping model, intake platform and price transparency. We added each vendor’s published turnaround because buyers ask for it, and we repeat it as published rather than endorsing it. Every cell below comes from the vendor’s own page, observed 31 October 2026. An entry that says “not stated” means the page we read did not state it, not that the vendor lacks it.

VendorDeliverables as publishedStamping model as publishedRevision handling as published
Solar Permit SolutionsSite plan, electrical plans, placards, structural details for roof and ground mounts, cover sheets, single line diagram, structural calculations, interconnection packagesEvery set reviewed and sealed by a licensed PE valid for the project state; two-stage review, junior engineer then PE; wet or digital stampUnlimited; “We revise until your building department approves”
GreenLancerCover sheet, codes, site plan, array layout, racking plan, structural calculations, electrical line diagram, bill of materials, NEC calculations, placards, datasheets, elevation views “as required""PE stamps and reviews available in all 50 states”; each project can include a stamp “when the jurisdiction requires one”; engineer must be licensed in the project stateNot stated on the permitting page
WattmonkPlan sets described as permit-ready, plus sales proposals, site survey support, AHJ submissions, interconnection and PTO supportPE stamping described as a code compliance and engineering alignment check; states and stamp model not named on the home pageNot stated on the home page
VishtikPlan sets, electrical layouts, “PE-ready packages”, proposals, site surveys, interconnection and PTO, permitting”SE & EE PE-stamped packages, all 50 states”; a separate “48” appears under PE licensed statesNo revision count stated on the home page
Solar Designs USACover sheet, site plan, roof plan, attachment details, single and three line diagrams, equipment schedule, labels, spec sheets; one PDFStructural stamp is a $200 add-on; delivered as a sealed PDF with a calculation package; licensed states not listed on the pageCorrections to AHJ comments on its own drawings at no charge
Heaven Designs (US permit page)Cover sheet, site plan, roof plan, attachment detail, signage plan, single and three line diagrams, string layout, bill of material, equipment specifications with calculations, data sheetsStamping requirements are confirmed at quote stageRevisions and resubmittal support; terms agreed at scoping
VendorIntake and platform as publishedPublished pricePublished turnaround
Solar Permit SolutionsOnline intake form; residential sets formatted for eTRAKiT, e-Plan, ProjectDox and Accela plan check portals$1,200 up to 20 kW; $2,000 for 20 to 30 kW; from $3,700 above 30 kW; add-ons $1,500 and $1,0002 to 5 business days on pricing and home pages; 2 to 3 business days for residential on its plans page
GreenLancerSign-up and project intake in the GreenLancer appNone on the permitting page1 to 2 business days in the header; 3 to 5 and 2 business days elsewhere on the page
WattmonkWeb dashboard with order management and project trackingNone on the home page”2-24 hour turnaround on every plan set”; “no minimum order requirements”
VishtikVT360 portal with live milestones and designer chatNone on the home pagePermit design “12 Hours*” and PE stamp “6 Hours*”; the asterisk is not explained on the page
Solar Designs USAOnline work order; sealed PDF by email$250 under 20 kW; structural stamp +$200; battery design +$75; EV charger sheet +$50; over 20 kW quoted”24h” from a complete work order
Heaven DesignsSend site address, roof photos or survey, equipment list and utility name; PDF, editable DWG on requestNo public price list; quoted after scopingAgreed at scoping

Two of the five competitors publish a price card. Three publish none on the pages we read. If price transparency is your first filter, that already narrows the field.

What does each vendor’s own page say, and where does it fit?

Solar Permit Solutions. It publishes a flat price by kW band, unlimited revisions and a stated two-stage engineering review. Its plan sets are formatted for named plan check portals, and AHJ submission and interconnection are priced add-ons. It states that its in-house engineering team handles every project. It fits an installer who needs a fixed budget per job and wants submission handled for a fee. Its pages give two turnaround figures, so confirm which one applies to your job type.

GreenLancer. Its permitting page lists a bill of materials and NEC calculations among its drawings. It also offers EV permit design and interconnection applications. Intake runs through its app. It fits an installer who wants app-based ordering and a wide service menu. For depth on this vendor, read our GreenLancer alternatives guide for US installers.

Wattmonk. It sells one path from sales proposal through site survey, plan set, permitting, interconnection and PTO support, with a dashboard for tracking. It advertises a 2 to 24 hour plan set turnaround and no minimum order. It fits an installer who wants one vendor across the whole pre-install workflow. Our Wattmonk alternatives guide covers that vendor from the Wattmonk side.

Vishtik. It describes itself as “A US-facing solar engineering and permitting firm”, with a client portal and services that include UK DNO applications. It fits an installer who wants proposals, survey, design, stamp and PTO under one vendor, or who also builds in the UK. Ask for the licensed state list by name, because the home page shows both “all 50 states” and “48”.

Solar Designs USA. It publishes a $250 base price for a standard set under 20 kW. The structural stamp, battery design and EV charger sheet carry separate prices. It fits high-volume simple residential work under 20 kW where you know which stamp you need. Larger systems are quoted per project.

Do published prices cover the same scope?

Not quite. The tiers differ in what sits inside the headline price, so a lower sticker is not automatically a lower cost. The worked example below is illustrative. It adds up published prices observed 31 October 2026 for two hypothetical jobs. It is not a quote from any vendor.

Illustrative jobSolar Permit SolutionsSolar Designs USAGreenLancer, Wattmonk, Vishtik, Heaven Designs
18 kW residential, stamp required$1,200 (stamp and structural analysis listed in the tier)$250 base + $200 structural stamp = $450No price published on the pages we read; quote needed
Same job plus direct AHJ submission$1,200 + $1,000 = $2,200Not listedQuote needed
28 kW residential with battery$2,000 (battery design not listed as a line item)Over 20 kW is quoted per projectQuote needed

Assumptions: one roof, one structural stamp, no existing-system changes. The two published price cards cover different scope. The first includes structural analysis and a stamp in every tier. The second sells the structural stamp as an add-on. Compare line by line against your own AHJ’s stamp rules, which our PE stamp explainer covers.

Which vendor fits which installer?

Match the vendor to your constraint, not to a headline.

  • You need a fixed per-job budget: a vendor that publishes a price card. Two do.
  • You need one vendor from proposal to PTO: Wattmonk and Vishtik describe that path on their home pages.
  • You want submission handled for you: Solar Permit Solutions lists AHJ submission as a priced add-on. Check whether others offer it by asking.
  • You work mostly simple residential sets under 20 kW and know your stamp rules: Solar Designs USA publishes a modular price.
  • You want app-based ordering with EV work in the same account: GreenLancer’s pages describe both.
  • Your pipeline mixes residential with commercial, ground mount or storage work, and you want a named designer: we describe our own fit below.

For a wider decision frame, see our guide on how to choose a solar engineering partner.

What should you ask any vendor in writing?

Pages are marketing. Written answers are terms. Send every vendor on your shortlist the same questions and keep the replies.

  1. Which drawings are in the base price, and which are add-ons? Ask for a sample set.
  2. Who is the sealing engineer, in which states are they licensed, and is the stamp wet or digital?
  3. Is a structural stamp, an electrical stamp or both included for my jurisdiction?
  4. How many revision rounds are included, and does that cover plan check comments, equipment changes and utility comments?
  5. What turnaround applies to my job type, and when does the clock start?
  6. How do I submit a project, and how do I see its status?
  7. Do you format sets for my AHJ’s plan check portal, such as those listed in our AHJ glossary entry?
  8. Who handles the single line diagram, and can it follow my utility’s format? See our SLD definition.
  9. What happens when the AHJ returns comments after a plan equipment swap? Our redline resubmission guide lists the cases.
  10. What are the exact additions to the price for submission, interconnection, battery or EV scope?

If a vendor answers a question with a link to a marketing page, ask again.

How to run a same-job test

Send each finalist the same real project from your backlog, ideally one with a roof that is not simple. Score the returned sets on a sheet you build before the test:

  • Completeness against the plan set contents checklist
  • Cover sheet and code references against your AHJ’s adopted code cycle
  • Calculation traceability: can your reviewer follow each number
  • Questions the vendor asked before drawing, which show how closely they read the site
  • Time from complete intake to delivery, measured by you
  • What the revision round cost, in time and money

Use our white-label design QA checklist as the scoring base. One project proves little about volume, so run a second test in a different AHJ before moving a backlog. Our comparison of Wattmonk, GreenLancer and Heaven Designs sets out the same test from another angle.

Where does Heaven Designs fit?

Heaven Designs is an engineering firm founded in 2020 in Surat, with offices in Surat and Ahmedabad. We state, as company-stated figures, 50+ engineers and 300+ EPC clients. We produce US solar permit plan sets in the scope listed on our US solar permit design page. That scope covers the cover sheet, site and roof plans, attachment detail and signage plan. It also covers single and three line diagrams, string layout, bill of material and equipment data sheets. Files come as PDF for submittal, with editable DWG on request.

Some operating points matter to the fit:

  • We work to your title block and sheet conventions where you have them.
  • Installers with steady monthly volume get a named designer.
  • Stamping requirements are confirmed at quote stage, before work starts.
  • Turnaround and revision handling are agreed at scoping.
  • We do not publish a price list. Pricing follows scoping.
  • We reply to enquiries within 1 business day.

That is a different offer from a flat price card, and for some buyers it is the wrong one. Some buyers want a posted price and a posted turnaround before they talk to anyone. Solar Permit Solutions and Solar Designs USA publish both on the pages we read. We publish neither. If your pipeline also includes structural, ground mount or storage scope, send us the project and ask the ten questions above. Start at our US permit design page, look at the design samples first, or send the project through our contact form.

FAQ

Is Solar Permit Solutions a good alternative to Wattmonk or GreenLancer?

It is a different kind of offer. Its pages publish flat prices and unlimited revisions, which the Wattmonk and GreenLancer pages we read do not. Whether that suits you depends on your volume, your job sizes and your AHJs.

Which solar permit vendors publish their prices?

On the pages we read on 31 October 2026, Solar Permit Solutions and Solar Designs USA publish price cards. GreenLancer, Wattmonk and Vishtik did not publish prices on the pages we read. Prices can sit on other pages, so check before you decide.

Do all solar plan set providers include the PE stamp in the price?

No. One vendor lists a stamp in every tier. Another sells the structural stamp as an add-on. The rest do not state stamp pricing on the pages we read. Ask which stamp your AHJ requires and whether it is in the quote.

How should I compare solar permit design companies fairly?

Use the same five criteria for each: deliverables, revision handling, stamping model, intake platform and price transparency. Then run one identical project through each finalist and score the returned sets on a sheet written in advance.

How often does this comparison change?

Vendor pages change without notice. We read every page on 31 October 2026 and recheck monthly. Treat every figure here as a lead to confirm in writing, not as a quote.